free download 78 travel guides written by experts

Ford Engineer Andrew Fraser Wins 2013 Jim Clark Memorial Award For Innovative Ford Ecoboost Engine

The Association of Scottish Motoring Writers has presented its prestigious Jim Clark Memorial Award to Ford’s gasoline calibration manager Andrew Fraser for his work on Ford’s smallest petrol engine – the super-frugal, turbo-charged, direct injection 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine.

The award recognises Scots who have excelled in the fields of motorsport and automotive development. The Association of Scottish Motoring Writers (ASMW) found Andrew’s work on the Ford’s sophisticated 1.0-litre, three-cylinder engine compelling.

The award was presented on June 1 at a special celebration dinner in Troon, Ayrshire to mark Andrew’s achievements. Handing over the accolade, ASMW President Alisdair Suttie said: “It gives the ASMW enormous pleasure to present Andrew Fraser with this year’s trophy. His work is not only at the leading edge of engine development, it has a global impact on the cars we drive. Once again, it shows Scots engineers are still the best in the world”.

On receiving the award, a delighted Mr Fraser commented: “Our objective with the 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine was to deliver an engine with no compromises – providing best-in-class fuel economy, outstanding driveability and excellent refinement. Customer response has been overwhelming and to receive this prestigious award in recognition of this achievement is tremendous. I am proud to follow in the footsteps of Scottish legends such Jim Clark, Sir Jackie Stewart and Colin McRae”.

Born in Perth in 1964, Andrew Fraser attended the George Heriot’s School in Edinburgh and went on to study mechanical engineering at Edinburgh University. Andrew joined Ford in 1986, working in the UK and USA on petrol and diesel engines. He was made Gasoline Powertrain Development manager in 2006 and has headed up the team which developed Ford’s high-tech new 1.0-litre EcoBoost petrol engine.

The Jim Clark Memorial Award is in memory of the Scot who, in a Lotus 49 at the Dutch Grand Prix in 1967, gave Ford its first ever Formula One win with the new Ford-Cosworth V8 Grand Prix engine. Now in its fifth decade, the award is presented annually to a deserving Scot by the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers. Previous winners include motorsport legends Sir Jackie Stewart, Allan McNish, David Coulthard, Louise Aitken-Walker, Colin McRae and world land speed record breaker, Richard Noble OBE.

BRENTWOOD, Essex / Bucuresti, 03.06.2013
{mosloadposition user9}

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *